Mattis Receives Senate Confirmation for #SECDEF Appointment

Retired Marine Gen. James N. Mattis was confirmed and sworn in as President Trump’s defense secretary Friday afternoon. Mattis was confirmed with a 98-1 vote by the Senate.

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (D.-N.Y.) was the lone dissenting vote, having previously expressed her objection to a recently retired general from serving as defense secretary. Secretary Mattis was sworn into office by Vice-President Pence.

Secretary Mattis becomes only the second person to have received a congressional waiver from the seven-year moratorium in place to prevent recently retired senior military officer’s from serving as defense secretary until after the expiration of a “cool down” period. Army General George C. Marshall was the only other recently retired general to receive such a waiver in 1950, when he was nominated for the post by President Truman.

Secretary Mattis will now lead the Department of Defense, the largest federal agency in the executive branch. The DOD is comprised of several components which include the Departments of the Army, Navy, and Air Force; whose personnel include both active-duty service members and civilians.

Photo Credit

No Comments

Leave a Reply