Donald J. Trump Sworn In as 45th President of the United States

Surrounded by past presidents, members of Congress, his family, and his supporters, Donald J. Trump was sworn in as the 45th President of the United States America, just past 12:00PM EST, on the steps of the Capitol Building in Washington, D.C.

With his inauguration, President Trump now heads the Executive Branch of government which includes 15 Cabinet level agencies (as well as other non-cabinet level agencies), and over 1.8 million non-seasonal full-time permanent employees.

Almost immediately following his inauguration ceremony, President Trump signed a series of executive orders at the U.S. Capitol that included formal nominations, a waiver allowing retired Gen. James Mattis to serve as defense secretary and a proclamation for a National Day of Patriotism.

A majority of President Trump’s key cabinet nominations are still awaiting confirmation in the Senate. Until the new political appointees arrive at their posts, it will fall to senior civil servants to run the day-to-day affairs of the various cabinet-level agencies.

Photo Credit

No Comments

Leave a Reply